Laid Off – The End or the Beginning?

If you saw the movie “Up in the Air” with George Clooney, there is a scene where actual non-actors describe what it was like being fired or laid off. I was very moved by the pain and sense of loss they experienced and it brought back very painful memories for me.

So now I spend a lot of time helping others in this situation, and I see many who are in the same position as those in the movie. There is another scene in the movie where he talks about the people who changed the world who were sitting in their seat just like them at some previous time (I’m not describing this very well if you didn’t see the movie, but stay with me.)

The point is that many of us get complacent in our jobs and stop trying to be the best we can and – well, it takes getting laid off or fired to take action and follow our dreams. Not everyone can find the courage to do that – especially when your income has just been cut off.
But for those who dare, the rewards can be unimaginable. Even if you fail – and you probably will – you’ll learn from it, get up and try again. Sooner or later you’ll succeed and wonder why you didn’t do this 20 years ago.

So here’s a very inspirational trailer I found on Seth Godin’s blog. It’s to an upcoming movie called Lemonade.

If you want some motivational incentive, just watch the trailer and then comment back to me.

By the way, you can see my columns on career coaching and transitions at SF Examiner.com.

JP McDermott is a financial services and insurance advisor in Walnut Creek, CA. specializing in career transitions. He is also a career and financial coach, a freelance writer on career coaching with SF Examiner.com, and has been volunteering his time and experience to various non-profit, service and civic organizations.
JP lives in Danville with his wife Candy.

Check out his LinkedIn profile http://www.linkedin.com/in/jpmcdermott
JP Headshot1

3 Responses to Laid Off – The End or the Beginning?

  1. Ken Lance says:

    We have a mutual good friend Alvin Hopkins who sent me the link to your site. I have been laidoff since November 2009. Had a short job since than which I resigned from back to unemployment. So I am semi-retired looking for parttime/temporary work. It is as hard to find as full time employment. I belong to 2 church ministries for those seeking career change. One is called Bridgebuilders and the other career ministry. The first is the larger which our last speaker we had about 150 people. Would like to meet you next time you are in Los Angeles for myself and for discussion for the group.
    Have a great Day..

  2. Grace Moniz says:

    JP –
    Great writing! Being laid off is often the opportunity to live the life we always wanted! After 22 years in Human Resources with a Fortune 500 company, my position dissolved. Looking back, as much of an emotional upheaval it was to walk through, I am now living the life of my dreams, helping others find their passion and get back on their feet!

    Grace

Leave a Reply

